Saturday, February 26, 2011

Broadcasters need spring training too!

Just watching the Mets/Braves game.  1 out 9th inning, runners on 1st and 2nd.   Line drive over the 3rd baseman who jumps for it but misses it, and ends up in R2's way.  Umpire points at fielder,  the runner keeps

going towards home, missing 3rd base, and apparently scores.   Announcers notice he missed 3rd base, but speculate it doesn't matter, because apparently obstruction was called.    Then they notice there are 2 outs,  and the run isn't on the scoreboard.  And try to figure out what happened.   After much debating they speculate that an appeal was made on 3rd base and the runner was in fact called out.  Maybe it wasn't obstruction because the fielder was trying to make a play on the ball, they muse?
Oy, vey!  Where to start.

Yes, obstruction was called on the runner going between 2nd and 3rd.  No, that does not excuse him from having to touch 3rd base as he scampered home.   Yes, an appeal was made, and he was called out for that.
Is is asking too much for professional broadcasters to know the rules?  I understand a little league first time dad coach getting confused, but these guys are being paid for their commentary on the game.  Am I the only one who doesn't think this is that complicated?   Here's a quick recap on obstruction.  Remember that a runner can still be called out even though obstruction was called.

Shop MLB Gear at Fansedge

No comments:

Post a Comment