Thursday, October 7, 2010

When should you pull the rule book out?

Never.  Let me clarify that for you:  NEVER.  There is an unwritten rule that a Baseball Coach should never come out of the dugout waving a rule book, as he is likely to be ejected before even getting to have his say.   As a Coach I have had a few situations where I thought an Umpire misinterpreted a rule.  What should you do?  By all means, go out and discuss the situation, but keep your book in the dugout.  In one game, the other team had runners on 1st and 3rd, and the batter hit a ground ball that hit the runner going to 2nd.  The Umpire immediately called runner interference, called the runner out, and placed the batter on 1st base.  So far, so good, but the runner on 3rd scored on that play, and nobody was sending him back.   I called time, pointed that out to the ump, he said “you might be right”, he conferred with his partner, and quickly put the runner back on 3rd base.  Nice and easy, without anybody raising their voices.   This was a best case scenario.   I’ll have some follow-up posts where the discussion wasn’t as smooth. :)

No comments:

Post a Comment